Osaka, October 2016
Minamisoma, August 2015
Ishinomaki, July 2014
Iwaki, September 2016
Osaka, October 2016
Otsuchi, July 2014
Ofunato, August 2015
Ogatsu, August 2015
Otsuchi, March 2013

"Akira Tana’s wonderful group is truly doing something very special here and it is a fine example of how music can break down cultural barriers and expose the commonality within us all." — Jazz Inside

"The quartet has created a gorgeous body of music interpreting traditional and contemporary Japanese melodies through the lens of jazz." — San Jose Mercury News

"Performance seemed love-filled and compassionate. At times it felt like a lullaby; no wonder the children slept. It was exquisite." — San Jose Mercury News

Akira Tana — Drums & Leader
Masaru Koga — Sax, Flute, Shakuhachi & Percussions
Art Hirahara — Piano
Noriyuki "Ken" Okada — Bass
Saki Kono — Guest Vocalist & Tour Coordinator

Tax Deductible Donations handled by San Jose Jazz, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization to support music education and live performance. To contribute to Otonowa project, please go to their Contribution Page and enter OTONOWA in the comment box (if contributing online) or in the memo section (if mailing a check).


Sat, Mar 7, 2020 @ 3:00 PM

Watsonville Buddhist Temple

423 Bridge St, Watsonville, CA

Doors Open: 2:30 PM

Start: 3:00 PM

Admission: $25

Sun, Mar 8, 2020 @ 4:00 PM

Flytrap Annex

900 E 11th St, Oakland, CA

Doors Open: 3:30 PM

Start: 4:00 PM

Admission: $25

Fri, Mar 13, 2020 @ 8:00 PM

Mitchell Park Community Center

Otonowa Fundraiser in Palo Alto

3700 Middlefield Rd, Palo Alto, CA

Doors Open: 7:30 PM

Start: 8:00 PM

Special Guest: Takahiro Dai (tp)

Sat, Mar 14, 2020 @ 7:30 PM

CANCELLED - Bird and Beckett

653 Chenery St, San Francisco, CA

Doors Open: 7:00 PM

Start: 7:30 PM

This event has been cancelled.

Sun, Mar 15, 2020 @ 4:00 PM

CANCELLED - St. Alban's Episcopal Church

1501 Washington Ave, Albany, CA

Doors Open: 3:30 PM

Start: 4:00 PM

This event has been cancelled.

Mon, Mar 16, 2020 @ 7:30 PM

CANCELLED - Sequoia Room at North Coast Brewing Co.

444 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA

Doors Open: 7:00 PM

Start: 7:30 PM

This event has been cancelled.

SOUNDCIRCLE - Documentary of Otonowa created by Sara Pettinella

Documentary of our Japan Tour 2014 created by Sara Pettinella